Black Roe

Cuisine: Hawaiian

Location: Mayfair, London

I have never actually been to a Poke Bar so I wasn’t sure what to expect from Black Roe. I did a bit of general research before actually going to the restaurant and I found out that the signature dish which was very popular with people who ate there frequently was the Lobster Mac n Cheese.

I’m a huge lobster fan and I love mac n cheese so I was looking forward to trying it. In retrospect, I wish I had been a bit more adventurous with my food choice.

I was slightly late to this reservation as well (I think I’m starting to make it a habit) but upon getting there everything was pretty fast paced. The restaurant is quite serious about their 2 hour long table reservation as it quite small and is pretty popular, so I would recommend getting there on time.

If you’re looking for a quiet dinner location then Black Roe is definitely not somewhere I’d suggest to you, however, the mood is is perfect for a casual meal.

Now to get on to the important stuff…

Our Meal:

Starters

  • PRAWN TEMPURA- My go-to prawn tempura with a truffle dressing… Normally this is a pretty basic dish that always tastes good, but unfortunately I really didn’t like the one at Black Roe.  Perhaps its because I’m not very big on coriander, but I personally wouldn’t recommend it.

     

Mains

  • WHOLE LOBSTER “MAC ‘N’ CHEESE”- Loved it, but for the sake of being pedantic – the mac n cheese could be a little bit crispier (that’s just my preference)

  • CHICKEN “SPATCHCOCK”- The chicken was very nice and moist with a perfect balance of flavours, I would absolutely recommend it.

Sides

  •  STEAMED NISHIKI RICE

     

Dessert

  • CHOCOLATE MELTING CAKE – As good as it sounds

Ratings

Food: 3.8/5

Service: 3/5

Ambience: 2.5/5

Average- 3.1/5

Food Challenge Progress 50%

 

 

This entry was published on 03/30/2017 at 1:26 pm. It’s filed under Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

