Sushi Samba

Cuisine: Japanese-Brazilian-Peruvian

Location: Liverpool Street, London

I have been looking forward to writing this review since the night I went to Sushisamba but now that I’m actually writing it, I’m not sure how to do this in a coherent manner.

I met my friends at Heron Tower and they had already headed up without me as I was about 20 minutes late (I’m usually never late). Anyway, we started off at the Bar area as its a rooftop so we got a better view of the sunset and the beautiful city of london. I would really recommend SushiSamba for drinks with friends as the view is incredible and they’ve also got this really pretty orange tree that is very popular with instagrammers!FullSizeRender.jpg

Apart from the view, another thing that makes SushiSamba really stand out is the unique combination of cuisines it serves – Japanese, Brazilian and Peruvian – I don’t know about you, but I have never been anywhere that has managed to combine rich, vibrant cultures together so effortlessly. This is not to say that they’re weren’t somethings that I think could be improved…

Now, on to the good part…

Our Meal:

Starters

  • Wagyu Gyoza
  • Shrimp Tempura

**Unfortunately a few of the starters that we wanted were not being served that night- this was extremely annoying**

Mains

  • Tuna Seviche – I’ve never tried a Seviche but it was quite interesting, it contained a mix of sweet and savoury flavours but nothing was too overwhelming. Highly recommendable!
  • Kobe Churrasco (with lamb chops as a substitute for the chorizo)
  • Samba Maki
  • El Topo- one of the best “sushi” meals I have ever had – had a mozzarella base instead of the usual rice and it was divine!

Desserts

  • Assorted Mochi – No one was feeling particularly adventurous with dessert so we all went with the Mochi which was really good as usual… They had 3 flavours: pineapple, mango and matcha

 

The food in general was very good, the steak was perfect and the El Topo was so good I can’t not mention it a second time. However, my drink was simply way too sour and despite the waiter taking it back to be “fixed”, I really didn’t like it.

 

Ratings

Food: 4/5

Service: 3.5/5

Ambience: 4/5

Average- 3.8/5

Food Challenge Progress 40%

 

 

 

This entry was published on 03/26/2017 at 12:00 pm. It’s filed under Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

